SoftBank Sakai

Brownfield AI campus · Sakai, Osaka, Japan · Former Sharp LCD panel plant

In a country where new data centers in Tokyo wait five to 10 years for grid power, SoftBank and KDDI each bought part of Sharp's idle LCD plant for its power service and cooling plant. KDDI's half went live in January 2026; SoftBank's roughly 150 MW AI data center has not announced an opening.

Site plan of the former Sharp Sakai LCD plant on Osaka Bay, split between SoftBank and KDDI, showing the reused power plant and cooling and the new data center and battery factory uses FORMER SHARP SAKAI LCD PLANT, OSAKA BAY SCHEMATIC OSAKA BAY RECLAIMED LAND, ABOUT 700,000 M2; PLANT COMPLETED 2009 SOFTBANK, ABOUT 60%About $676M, March 2025 AX FACTORYAI data center~150 MW, 250+ plannedOpening not announced GX FACTORYZinc-halogen batteriesProduction from FY2027 POWER PLANTReused; 250 MWsupply secured COOLING PLANTReused fromthe LCD plant Expected tenant: SB OAI Japan(OpenAI-SoftBank), per Nikkei KDDIBought April 2025 OSAKA SAKAI DCLive January 2026GB200 NVL72, liquidMW not disclosedReuses plant power Users include Google(Gemini), Takeda, ELYZA SOLID: DATA CENTER FLOORS. REUSED: GRID SERVICE, POWER PLANT, COOLING.
Purchase
About $676M
Floor space
About 840,000 m2
Initial power
About 150 MW
Planned power
250+ MW
KDDI half
Live January 2026
Hub
Deployments

The site

A 2009 LCD Plant Becomes an AI Data Center

  • Purchase: SoftBank Corp. agreed in March 2025 to buy land, buildings and related assets of Sharp's Sakai plant for about ¥100 billion (about $676M): about 450,000 m2 of land and 840,000 m2 of floor space, roughly 60% of the complex. Sharp, owned by Foxconn, ended panel production there in 2024.
  • Power: about 150 MW at first, expanding to more than 250 MW. SoftBank's May 2026 plan lists 140 MW for the "AX Factory" AI data center, with 110 exaFLOPS of compute under development.
  • Opening: first targeted for 2025, then 2026. A tracker reports the May 2026 plan moved it to fiscal 2027; no opening has been announced.
  • Tenant: SB OAI Japan, a 50/50 venture of OpenAI and SoftBank launched November 2025, sells OpenAI's "Crystal intelligence" in Japan. Nikkei linked it to Sakai; SoftBank has not.

What gets reused

The Grid Service Was the Asset

  • Power: SoftBank's board approved the deal on condition of securing 250 MW of supply. The plant was built to be self-sufficient, with its own generation, which SoftBank bought with the site.
  • Cooling: the panel plant's cooling plant comes with the buildings.
  • Batteries: part of the site becomes a "GX Factory" for zinc-halogen battery storage, producing from fiscal 2027, so the campus both makes and uses storage.
  • Not disclosed: water rights, cleanroom reuse and floor loading.

See Campus Layer.

KDDI's half

KDDI Converted Its Part First

KDDI bought land, buildings and electrical equipment in another part of the Sharp complex in April 2025 and began operating the Osaka Sakai Data Center on January 22, 2026: four stories and 57,000 m2, Nvidia GB200 NVL72 racks with direct liquid cooling, and 100% renewable power. Users include Google for Gemini, Takeda, Morgenrot and ELYZA. KDDI has not published its megawatts.

Japan's AI sites

Japan Is Pushing New Capacity Toward Hokkaido

Other Japanese AI data centers
SiteMWStatusNotes
KDDI Osaka SakaiSakai, Osaka (former Sharp plant)Not disclosedLive January 2026GB200 NVL72, direct liquid cooling, 100% renewable power
SoftBank TomakomaiTomakomai, Hokkaido50 first; 300+ plannedUnder constructionStarted April 2025; up to half subsidized by METI
AWS, Microsoft, OracleTokyo and Osaka regionsNot disclosedOperating and expandingAWS about $15.2B through 2027; Microsoft $2.9B; Oracle more than $8B over 10 years

A government council on "watt-bit collaboration" is steering data centers toward where power is generated. In May 2026 METI shortlisted 38 candidate GX Strategic Zones; nine are data center clusters, from Hokkaido to Kagoshima.

Japan's power limits

Tokyo Waits Five to 10 Years for Grid Power

  • Grid queue: TEPCO Power Grid's connection applications reached 15 GW at the end of fiscal 2025, up 20% in a year. It aims to halve lead times, and METI is weighing use-it-or-lose-it rules for reserved capacity.
  • Nuclear: Kashiwazaki-Kariwa Unit 6, 1,315 MW, returned to commercial operation April 16, 2026, its first since 2012.

See Grid Tie.

Korea

Korea Has the GPUs Allocated but Not the Sites

Korean AI data center projects
ProjectMW or scaleStatus
SK and AWS, UlsanAbout 41 first; 100+; expansion plan near 900Initial operations second half of 2027
National AI Computing Center, Haenam (Solaseado)Not disclosed; about 15,000 GPUs claimedBroke ground August 3, 2026; completion 2028; Samsung SDS-led group
Stargate Korea (Samsung, SK)About 20 each to start, reportedStalled: no site with enough power and water (September 2026)
Nvidia allocation260,000 Blackwell GPUs: government, Samsung, SK, Hyundai, NaverAnnounced October 2025; delivery status not reported

Record

Dataset Record

Dataset
Japanese and Korean AI data centers
Sources
SoftBank Corp., KDDI, Sharp, METI, SK Group, Korea JoongAng Daily, Kyunghyang, Nikkei via TechCrunch, DatacenterDynamics, NucNet, Shulman Advisory
Last verified
October 2026