The sites
Four Buildings in Memphis and Southaven, With a Fifth Site Reported in Brownsville
Colossus is a family of sites on both sides of the Tennessee-Mississippi line in south Memphis, plus a reported site in Brownsville, Texas, near SpaceX's Starbase.
Colossus 1 opened in a former Electrolux plant in 2024. Colossus 2 followed in Whitehaven, with its gas power plant across the state line in Southaven. Minihard is going up beside Colossus 2, and MACROHARDRR, a third building, is in Southaven. In Brownsville, about 444 acres near the Port of Brownsville were removed from city limits in August 2026 for a SpaceX project the company has not described; SemiAnalysis reports it is a data center, and other reports place data center construction near Starbase on Texas Highway 4.
- Anthropic
- Shared: Grok, Reflection AI, Anthropic
- SpaceXSI only
- Power
- Not disclosed or planned
| Site | GPUs | Power | Users | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Colossus 13231 Paul Lowry Rd, Memphis, TN | More than 220,000 Nvidia H100, H200 and GB200 | More than 300 MW per the Anthropic announcement; the S-1 reportedly lists about 130 MW | Anthropic, all capacity since May 2026 | Operating |
| Colossus 25420 Tulane Rd, Memphis, TN | About 110,000 GB200 plus 440,000 GB300 running, per Musk; S-1 lists about 440,000 GPUs | About 946 MW of IT, Epoch AI estimate; 1 GW company rating | Grok training, Reflection AI, part of Anthropic's contract | Operating and expanding |
| Minihard5414 Tulane Rd, Memphis, TN | About 220,000 GB300 planned, in a denser layout | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Under construction; 312,000 sq ft, four stories; $659M permit value |
| MACROHARDRR2400 Stateline Rd W, Southaven, MS | Not disclosed | Not disclosed; the Colossus sites together target almost 2 GW | Not disclosed | Status not disclosed; more than $20B announced |
| Southaven power plant2875 Stanton Rd, Southaven, MS | - | 41 permanent turbines approved, about 1.2 GW | Powers Colossus 2 | Temporary turbines being removed |
| Brownsville site (reported)Near the Port of Brownsville, TX | Not disclosed | Not disclosed; job postings seek cooling and turbine engineers | Not disclosed | About 444 acres de-annexed August 2026 |
| Atlanta1025 Jefferson St NW, Atlanta, GA | About 11,000 H100 and 1,448 A100 | 17 MW | SpaceXSI | Operating |
Company GPU and power figures run ahead of independent estimates. Epoch AI counts about 946 MW of IT power at Colossus 2 as of June 2026 and projects about 1.5 GW by February 2027.
Who rents it
Anthropic, Google and Reflection AI Rent Colossus Compute
SpaceX reports compute rental as part of its AI segment. The contracts below add up to about $2.3B a month.
| Customer | Site | Capacity | Terms | Since |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Anthropic | Colossus 1 (all) and part of Colossus 2 | About 325,000 GPUs across both | $1.25B a month through May 2029, about $45B in the S-1; up to $84.5B in Anthropic's prospectus; 90-day termination | May 2026 |
| Not disclosed | About 110,000 GPUs | $920M a month, October 2026 to June 2029 | October 2026 | |
| Reflection AI | Colossus 2 | GB300 capacity, GPU count not disclosed | $150M a month, up to $6.3B through 2029 | July 2026 |
| Cursor | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | SpaceX acquired Cursor in August 2026 | April 2026 |
SpaceX's S-1 describes the Anthropic agreements as covering Colossus and Colossus II at about $45B. In September 2026 Reuters reported that Anthropic's confidential IPO prospectus puts the commitment at up to $84.5B through 2029, still mostly cancelable on 90 days' notice. The Pentagon is in talks for capacity, the Wall Street Journal reports.
Where Grok lives
Grok Trains on Colossus 2
- Grok 4 was trained with reinforcement learning on Colossus 1, described by SpaceXSI as its 200,000-GPU cluster.
- Newer training moved to Colossus 2: Musk posted on May 8, 2026 that new Grok models were training there, on GB200 and GB300 systems powered from Southaven.
- Grok inference, the serving of Grok to users, runs at sites SpaceX has not disclosed. A 17 MW site in Atlanta also runs SpaceXSI workloads.
- Grok in Tesla vehicles, built into new Teslas since July 2025 and able to control car hardware by voice since the 2026.26 update in July 2026, processes conversations on SpaceXSI servers, not in the car; it needs the AMD Ryzen infotainment computer and a data connection. Which cluster serves it, and whether it runs in virtual machines, is not disclosed.
Colossus 1, built in 122 days to train Grok, now trains Anthropic's models instead.
The names
Colossus, Macrohard, Minihard and SpaceXSI
The company
- February 2, 2026: SpaceX acquires xAI in an all-stock deal.
- June 12, 2026: SpaceX lists on Nasdaq as SPCX.
- July 6, 2026: xAI becomes SpaceXAI.
- October 4, 2026: SpaceXAI becomes SpaceXSI, SpaceX Super Intelligence; the legal entity is reportedly still SpaceXAI LLC.
Macrohard
- The software company: announced in August 2025 as a "purely AI software company" built to simulate firms such as Microsoft; Business Insider reported in March 2026 that the effort had stalled.
- The roof: "MACROHARD" was painted across Colossus 2's roof in October 2025.
- MACROHARDRR: the third building, in Southaven, named by Musk in December 2025.
Minihard
Musk named Minihard in July 2026: a fourth building at 5414 Tulane Rd beside Colossus 2, built to hold about 220,000 GB300 GPUs in a smaller, denser building than its neighbor. Its construction permit, filed in March 2026, values it at $659M.
Colossus 3
SpaceX has not used the name. Wikipedia applies it to MACROHARDRR in Southaven; social media applies it to the Brownsville site.
Power
Gas Turbines First, Then a Permanent 1.2 GW Plant
- Colossus 1: about 150 MW from Memphis Light, Gas and Water (MLGW) on the TVA grid, up to 15 permitted gas turbines (about 247 MW) through January 2027, and 168 Tesla Megapacks.
- Colossus 2: Mississippi regulators approved 41 permanent turbines, about 1.2 GW, at the Southaven plant in March 2026. Temporary turbines, reported at 27 to 69 units, are being removed between August 2026 and July 2027.
- Disputes: the NAACP sued over the turbines in April 2026; the Justice Department moved to dismiss the case in June.
- Solar: a 30 MW solar farm is planned beside Colossus.
See Onsite Gas and the energy models of the largest US campuses.
The stack inside
Nvidia Rack-Scale Systems on Liquid, Fed by Gas
| Layer | At Colossus | More |
|---|---|---|
| Chips | Nvidia H100, H200 and GB200 at Colossus 1; GB200 and GB300 at Colossus 2 | Chip depth at SemiconductorX |
| Server and rack | Supermicro liquid-cooled racks at Colossus 1; GB200 and GB300 NVL72 rack-scale systems at Colossus 2 | See the GB200 NVL72 supplier ring |
| Network | Nvidia Spectrum-X Ethernet at Colossus 1, Nvidia says; Colossus 2 fabric not disclosed | Network and Fabrics |
| Cooling | Liquid-cooled racks; 217 air-cooled chillers reject about 412 MW of heat at Colossus 2, Epoch AI counts | Direct-to-Chip Cooling |
| Power | Grid from MLGW and TVA, gas turbines, 168 Tesla Megapacks at Colossus 1; the Southaven gas plant for Colossus 2 | Onsite Gas |
Record
Dataset Record
- Dataset
- Colossus sites and compute contracts; Colossus rows also in us_ai_campuses.csv
- Sources
- SpaceX S-1 and SEC filings, Not a Tesla App, Digital Citizen, Epoch AI, Mississippi Department of Environmental Quality, Shelby County Health Department, DatacenterDynamics, TechCrunch, Fortune, Engadget, The Next Web, Action News 5, Mississippi Free Press, San Antonio Current
- Last verified
- October 2026